On this page, you will find NCERT Class 6 Geography Chapter 5 Notes Pdf free download. CBSE Class 6 Social Science Notes Geography Chapter 5 SST Major Domains of the Earth will seemingly help them to revise the important concepts in less time.

Major Domains of the Earth Class 6 Notes Social Science Geography Chapter 5

CBSE Class 6 Geography Chapter 5 Notes Understanding The Lesson

1. The Earth is the only planet which has Life-sustaining elements are present on the Earth.

2. The surface of the Earth is a complex zone in which three main components – solid, gases and water of the environment meet, overlap and interact.

3. Solid portion is called Lithosphere. It comprises the rocks of the Earth’s crust and the thin layers of soil that contain nutrient elements which sustain organism.

4. There are two main divisions of the Earth’s surface, the large landmasses are known as the continents and the huge water bodies are called the ocean basins.

5. The gaseous layers that surround the Earth is called Atmosphere.

6. The area covered with water is called Hydrosphere.

7. A narrow zone where we find land, water and air together, which contains all forms of life, is called Biosphere.

8. There are seven major continents. These are separated by large water bodies.

9. Continents are-Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, South America, Australia and Antarctica.

10. Greater part of the land mass lies in the Northern Hemisphere.

11. Maitri and Dakshin Gangotri are the India’s research stations in Antarctica.

12. More than 71% of the Earth is covered with water and 29% with land.

13. Hydrosphere consists of water in all its forms as – running water, ice, underground water and water vapour in atmosphere, all comprise the hydrosphere.

14. More than 97% of the Earth’s water is found in the oceans and is too salty. A large proportion of the rest of the water is in the form of ice-sheets and glaciers or under the ground and a very small percentage is available as fresh water for human use.

15. Oceans are the major part of hydrosphere. They are all interconnected. The oceans water is always moving. The three chief movements of ocean waters are the waves, the tides and ocean currents.

16. The four major oceans are the Pacific Ocean, The Atlantic Ocean, The Indian Ocean and the Arctic Ocean.

17. The largest ocean is Pacific Ocean. It is spread over one-third of the Earth. The deepest part of the Earth, ‘Mariana Trench’ lies in the Pacific Ocean. This ocean is almost circular in shape.

18. The Atlantic Ocean is the second-largest Ocean in the world. It is ‘S’ shaped. On the western side, it is flanked by the North and South Americas.

19. Indian Ocean is the only ocean named after a country, that is, India. The shape of oceans almost triangular.

20. The Arctic Ocean is located within the Arctic Circle and surrounds the North Pole.

21. The Earth is surrounded by a layer of gas called the atmosphere. The atmosphere extends up to a height of about 1,600 kms. The atmosphere is divided into five layers based on composition, temperature and other properties.

22. The layers starting from Earth’s surface are called-troposphere, stratosphere, mesosphere, thermosphere and the exosphere.

23. The atmosphere is composed mainly of two gases-Nitrogen and Oxygen which make up 99% of clean, dry air. Nitrogen is 78%, Oxygen 21% and other gases like carbon dioxide, argon and others comprise 1% by volume.

24. Oxygen is the breath of life, nitrogen helps in the growth of living organisms, carbon dioxide absorbs heat radiated by the Earth and essential for the growth of plants.

Major Domains of the Earth Class 6 CBSE Notes Important Terms

Atmosphere: gaseous layers that surround the Earth.

Biosphere: It contains all forms of life.

Continents: large area of landmass.

Strait: A narrow passage of water connecting two large water bodies.

Isthmus: A narrow strip of land joining two landmasses.

Crust: Outer layer of the Earth.